Mission Statement of the Martin County Board of Commissioners

We are an elected group of concerned citizens who love Martin County
and provide leadership as an extension of State Government. 
We strive to effectively and efficiently manage tax dollars and resources
and encourage development and job creation by supporting businesses
and promoting Martin County.


 Meet the Commissioners:


Commissioners Elmo"Butch" Lilley, Dempsey Bond, Jr., Ronnie Smith,

Tommy Bowen, and Joe R. Ayers (left to right)


The Martin County Board of Commissioners is the governing body for Martin County Government. The Board consists of five elected officials, three of whom are elected from the eastern district, and two of whom are elected from the western district.

The Board of Commissioners establishes local ordinances, policies and procedures and determines the immediate and long-term goals and objectives of the County.



Ronnie Smith, Commissioner

Western District

9242 US 64 
Robersonville, NC 27871
252-217-3701 (C)
Term Expires 2018


Elected in 2002, Commissioner Smith was recently elected 2nd Vice President of the North Carolina Association of County Commissioners. Commissioner Smith served as Chairman of the Board 2008-2010 & 2014-2016 and Vice Chairman of the Board 2006-2008 &2012-2014. He holds a BS in Intermediate Education from Fayetteville State University and Double Masters from Webster University, St. Louis, MO in Industrial Management & Human Relations. He is a Retired Air Force Officer. He is married to Joyce. He has three children. 



Elmo “Butch” Lilley, Chairman
Eastern District

1035 Grand Canyon Road
Williamston, NC 27892
252-792-5173 (H)
Term Expires 2020


Elected in 1996, Commissioner Lilley has served as Chairman of the Board 2002-2004, 2010-2012, 2016-Present and Vice Chairman of the Board 2000-2002, 2008-2010, 2014-2016. He is a 1970 honor graduate of NCSU with a BS in Agronomy. He is married to Rebecca. Daughters are Sara, Tara, and Jessica. He has several grandchildren.



Tommy Bowen, Vice Chairman
Eastern District

1110 Lenora Drive
Williamston, NC 27892
252-792-7605 (H) 252-809-3302 (C)
Term Expires 2020



Elected in 1996, Commissioner Bowen served as Chairman of the Board 2000-2002, 2006-2008, 2012-2014 and Vice-Chairman of the Board 1998-2000, 2004-2006, 2010-2012, & 2016-Present. He is a Retired State Employee. He currently serves on the following boards: Martin County Department of Social Services Board, Martin Enterprise Board, Martin County Chamber of Commerce Board, and Martin General Hospital Board. Hobbies are working & spending time with grandchildren. Daughters are Tami, Kim, and Billy Jo; Sons are Barry and David. He has five grandchildren and one great grandchild.  



Dempsey Bond, Jr., Commissioner
Eastern District                                     

221 Wildcat Rd
Williamston, NC 27892
252-792-3516 (H)
Term Expires  2020


Elected in 2012. Commissioner Bond retired as Transportation Director of  Pitt County Schools as well as from the NC DMV Division of School Bus & Traffic Safety. He is or has been affilated with the following organizations: Martin County Tourism Development Authority, Mid-East Rural Planning Organization, Southern Albemarle Association (President 2009), State Employees' Credit Union Advisory Board,  Pitt Area Transit Authority, NC Pupil Transportation Association, and the North Carolina Association of School Administrators (Member #5607). He served as Assistant Principal (1967-1978) at W S Etheridge Elementary School, Windsor, NC. He is married to Marykay Walker Bond; has two sons, one daughter, six granddaughters and one grandson.



Joe R. Ayers, Commissioner
Western District

P O Box 279
Oak City, NC 27857
(252)809-2589  (Cell)
Term Expires 2018


Elected in 2014, Commissioner Ayers is an entrepreneur and private business owner in agribusiness. He is a 1978 graduate of East Carolina University, earning a bachelor's of science degree in business administration. Mr. Ayers has served on many boards through the years, including the Martin County ABC Board, Martin County Economic Development Corporation Board, and the Town of Oak City Board of Commissioners, on which he served for 27 years. Commissioner Ayers lives in Oak City and has four children and two grandchildren.





Martin County
County Commissioners
305 East Main Street
PO Box 668
Williamson, NC  27892
Phone: 252-789-4300